My ADD daughter was awarded “A” honor roll for 2nd quarter!!!!

Standard
My ADD daughter was awarded “A” honor roll for 2nd quarter!!!!

Yep- you heard me right!!!

K's 2nd quarter 4th grade awards!

K’s 2nd quarter 4th grade awards!

Along with the BUG award (which is Bringing Up a Grade without any others slipping), perfect attendance, and the PAW award (for showing excellent citizenship)!

Now, I was really nervous at the beginning of 4th grade, Kensie had just been diagnosed with ADD with a slight lean toward ADHD due to focus. She had C’s & D’s all through third grade. To be quite frank, I was on pins and needles that she would fail 3rd grade. Here’s my post after her diagnosis…http://citygirlonhicksfarm.com/2013/08/03/living-as-an-adult-diagnosed-with-adhd-my-9-year-daughter-just-being-diagnosed-with-add/ย 

Then last week, I was reading my dear friend, Angela’s post on ADD/ADHD & people’s judgement on it… here’s the link to that postย http://writermomblog.com/ten-things-say-parent-adhd-child/

People without this brilliant tweek (yep- I just called ADD/ADHD brilliant, frankly, it is. It’s how YOU as a person handle ANY situation given to you that creates the outcome.) don’t quite understand how our brains work & that’s okay for the adults, but, kids don’t understand why someone is screaming at them when they are trying to focus and get what they need to get it done. Patience is a GREAT virtue with ADD/ADHD, my friends… anyways…

This lady, shown below (She’s probably going to fuss) is Mrs. Deno. She’s is MacKensie’s 4th grade teacher & just when I thought my child may struggle through school, Mrs. Deno has TAUGHT MacKensie that she can SHINE!!!! Thank you Mrs. Deno for all of YOUR hard work with not only the love, attention, hard work you give to my child but all the children!!!

Mrs. Deno is the one on the right!

Mrs. Deno is the one on the right!

Mrs. Deno is the one on the right!

Mrs. Deno is the one on the right!

& Lastly I can’t not post a few photos of K & her BFF!!!

Kens & Jenna!

Kens & Jenna!

K&J  and their awards!!!

K&J and their awards!!!

K and all of her awards!!!

K and all of her awards!!!

Until next time!

~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

30 responses »

  1. She’s clearly as amazing and strong and ambitious as you are! Congrats to BOTH of you.
    And she is such a beauty! Clearly from your side?

  2. So happy for your girl! Amazing how much good a teacher can do, isn’t it? Of course her mama gets plenty of credit as well! But the most credit goes to Kensie – she earned it, and I hope she is proud!

    • It is!!! Thank you, Kensie has worked very hard to get those A’s and do you know what she wanted? She said “Momma, do you think you could take me to Arby’s for supper?” I laughed and said anything you want! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. WOW!!!! Oh, Amber….this is just fantastic!!!! Congratulations to your wonderful girl!!! I am so proud of her!! (and you for begin the best, supportive mom ever!) What an accomplishment!! YAY for Kensie!!! You go, girl!! –Lisa

  4. That’s super awesome! Looks like she has a really great teacher too who takes the time to work with her. Most teachers don’t do that nowadays with as many kids as they have in the room.

  5. Congratulations! I am a special education para at a school and I love when my students who have ADD and ADHD shine through like this! The look on their faces is always priceless. And you are right- they are Brilliant! It is so amazing watching them work! So glad you have a teacher that understands your daughter’s needs and brought her brilliance out!

  6. Thank you for stopping by my post about my girls and I am so GLAD that you did. Reading your post made me cry, and I think you just gave me the courage to write a post I was struggling with even putting out there. My beautiful daughter in 5th grade has dyslexia and it has been an awful years so far. She is amazing, her specials teacher is amazing, her homeroom teacher thinks she is lazy, even with her IEP and all of her tests….. Urgh some people should just not teach….. Thanks you I am about to get real…. Hope I have the courage to post.

    • You have the courage! Deep down its in there or you wouldn’t have just told me about it! Go get writing! Email me if you ever need to talk, your daughter will figure it out, bless her heart! ~A~

  7. Oh that’s just amazing to know! There’s nothing more rewarding for a parent than seeing their child excel and be happy. Good job to both of you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. That’s wonderful that your daughter has such a great teacher. Congratulations to your daughter for all her achievements.

Leave a Reply

