GO TAR HEELS!!!!

Standard

So, I’m delayed in writing my little post about the Carolina Tar Heels WINNING the game against the Dook boys but I couldn’t be more ecstatic!

image

Not awake but Happy, Happy, Happy!

You see, when my dear daddy was alive, I pulled for the opposing team, Duke, just to get him riled up, only it didn’t get him riled up, he laughed it off! Made me so mad! My father got his master’s degree in divinity from Duke University due to the fact that it is a Methodist school (beautiful chapel!) however wore his Carolina gear on the Duke campus.

However, It was not until after my father’s passing and I had moved back home with Momma during the ugly divorce with K’s dad, that I truly embraced the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. You see it was the night of 2005 that they were playing for the NCAA National Championship, my dear brother, Brock, (aka Bubby as I call him) was on pins and needles watching every second of this game, the last buzzer sounded and the Tar Heels had just claimed another National Championship.

Cold chills shot down my body!

Bubby began jumping for joy and hollaring, ran out in the front yard, screaming “We just won, this one is for you, Dad!  Go Tar Heels!” (Scared & probably woke up all the neighbors but we didn’t care!)

Kensie woke up & said “Uncle Brockie (she was 2 so back then she was allowed to call him that, now, he would decapitate us all…lol) , did we win?” He picked her up & responded with a big hug “we sure did, Kensie!”

Momma & I were standing there in tears because my baby brother was SO ecstatic for that championship! Thinking about it today still gives me chills!

My baby brother, my Bubby, was so raw with emotions about being a Tar Heel fan, I wanted to know what that felt like.

Win or lose, I am a Tar Heel fan! We have a saying down here and it goes like this:

“I was Tar Heel born, Tar Heel bred, and when I die, I will be Tar Heel dead.”

I know it sounds kinda weird but we’re in the South, y’all!

I’m trying to convert an old blackberry video of Kens singing “Hark the Sound” (which is a UNC Tar Heel song for those who aren’t aware) from when she was about 3, technology has changed SO much on 7 years but as soon as I get it converted to YouTube video I will post a link here!

As promised: here’s the youtube video of cute Kens, age 3ish, singing “Hark the Sound” with some prompts from Momma of course…

Happy Saturday/updated Sunday, y’all!
XO!
~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

18 responses »

  1. AW!!! Such a sweet story!!!! I love that your brother was just SO excited to his CORE!! And best of all, that you joined right in to be a fan too! I bet your daddy has so much fun watching you and is so proud!! 😉

  2. I get it but only because my husband grew up in Tennessee and is a major Vols fan! It’s awesome that you came over to “The RIght Side!” I’m a huge Denver Broncos fan. Needless to say, the super bowl was a little painful this year but I’m still a fan, so I get that part too.

    • Hey, win or lose- I am a Tar Heel fan, the thing about Duke and Carolina is there’s only about 20 or so miles between those Universities, so, especially here in NC, you are either a fan of Dook or UNC & in the late 70’s & early 80’s the rivalry was actually UNC & NC State, but, poor State just can’t get it together anymore, lol! Anyways! Sorry to give you all the background, if you can’t tell, I’m a huge college basketball fan. That’s only because my daddy was about 6’3 and so is my brother so I grew up being around basketball all the time, if it was on TV everyone had to watch it because if you were in a different room, Daddy & Bubby were hollaring so might as well watch because you couldn’t do anything else…lol! Sorry for the rant of a book! I was pulling for your boys during the Super Bowl!

  3. One of my only regrets about going to the college I went to was that the basketball team stunk. I would have loved to go to a big bball school like UNC – maybe one of my kids will. That video is adorable – loved seeing and hearing you and your girl today!

    • Thank you!!! She has always said that’s where she’s going to school, but lately, due to her singing & theater side kicking in, now, shes talking a more artsy school… 🙂 Thanks for stopping. I LOVE that video!!! ~A~

Leave a Reply

