My try on a random act of kindness!

Standard

On Monday,

I stopped at the gas station to put a few dollars in my car tank, I mean a few bucks used to get the tank half full, but, that’s a whole other story for another day….. As I started my car and got ready to leave, I looked over to the pump next to me, it was a Ford Mustang convertible that was having issues starting. The young guy must have been about 17 or 18 years old, he says “ma’am, I hate to bother you, and if you are busy I understand, but, would you mind jumping my car?” My response was this “I have the southern accent, but, I don’t have cables (as I’m saying this, he pulls out jumper cables) & I live in the country , but, I don’t even have a clue where the latch is on the hood of my car, I can pop it ( and proceeding to, and then he opens my hood so easily), I’m really just a city girl married to a country guy.” He laughs, and hooks the cables up.

Although, we couldn’t get his motor to turn over, I felt SO bad for this kid. This was my random act of kindness though, I drove by this gas station another three times to make sure he was okay.

Y’all see, I was vested in this kid because he reminded me of my little brother, Brock, or I call him Bubby. He has had many Mustangs, still does have one, & I’ve had the phone call of “Sissy, I need your help…” Of course, I went flying to him, that is my baby brother, I would do anything for him, well, within reason….LOL!

So- I began to worry about this random kid, I had to remind myself he was not Bubby. Brock taught me about the band called “My Chemical Romance” and I am going to let y’all listen to probably my fave song from this band!

That was my random act of kindness, I wasn’t able to get this kid’s Mustang going, but, I sure tried.

Talk to y’all soon!
~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

33 responses »

  1. LOVE that you tried to take care of that poor kid!! Did he ever get it started? You are so sweet to keep checking on him… I just love that. And I love that it reminded you of your brother….

    Diggin’ the song too!! It’s got a great message and a good groove!!! Totally got me riled up!!!! WOOHOO!!

  2. Visiting from #LOBS. I say you get points for trying and sweet of you to check on him. I wouldn’t have known how to pop my hood or what do with a jumper cable either so don’t feel bad. That’s what AAA roadside assistance is for 🙂

    • I had to keep reminding myself, he wasn’t my Bubby, that is how much this kid reminded me of my brother, it had to be the Mustang and his build, I don’t know…. I was always the first one my baby bro’s call list, it was just like the big sis instinct I reckon…LOL!

      Thank ya, love! XO!

  3. Oh man, that’s too bad it wouldn’t start! I’ve been in the position of needing to get a car that I”m riding in jumped before–and I’ve been very grateful for folks that have offered us a jump when we needed it! That’s definitely a good way to bless someone!

  4. That was so sweet you kept checking up on him. I don’t know how to work jumper cables either…thank goodness I’ve always been able to get help when I’ve needed it. Hope you have a great weekend Amber!

  5. Poor kid. Just the fact that you tried to help made him feel better, I’m sure. I have no idea how to jump start a car, but I have the cables in my trunk just in case!

  6. Its the thought of trying to help that counts! Thanks for sharing your kindness with my Small Victories Sunday. I will be pinning to my Small Victories Sunday Awesomeness board on pinterest and across social media!

Leave a Reply

