Part V- 120605

Standard

This will be my final post about my actual “treatment” at a facility.

image

Wrecked Sentra 2005.

As soon as I was released from Cone Hospital, I was immediately required to go to Cone Health Outpatient Rehabilation Center where I went through speech therapy, physical therapy, & occupational therapy.

Well- I don’t know if y’all can tell how feisty I am but I had about 2 sessions with the speech therapist & the ONLY thing I had in common with this lady was Dave Matthews Band but nothing else. I told my Momma, “why do I have to see a speesh therapist? She’s not gonna fix the fact that I say f*^k, (I said it tons when I first woke from the coma, they said it was a side effect… I’m not sure, anyways), so, can you please have me stop seeing her?” I don’t know what happened, but, I never had to see her again… 🙂

Occupational & Physical Therapy were HARD!!! Keep in mind, I’m 5’7ish & I had just gotten out of the hospital so I was barely clearing 90 pounds & those therapists didn’t give a crap that I was scronny… they kept pushing, hard. I look back now & I am grateful because I’ve got use of just about every body part minus some functionality in my left hand, & I’ve got a lot of mobility in my left hand, but, boy it hurts if I use it for any length of time. I’m also left handed, Mike said I was not a good writer prior to the accident, but, what does he know- he didn’t like me before my accident… he thought I was a pain in his rear-end…

Life still has it’s struggles, I’m not going to lie, a brain injury thrown in the middle of things is not easiest, friends & family overexpect and get upset because “she’s just using the same excuse.” Well folks- sorry to say this but it’s not an excuse, it’s my life, nothing is going to get any better. I will have a brain injury the rest of my life & struggle with keeping jobs and different people’s personalities.

It hasn’t been an easy path my friends, but, I’ve learned a lot, about life, about people- I was a very intuitive person anyways, but, I got a deeper knowledge of how to read people, sometimes, it’s a good thing & sometimes it can be heartbreaking…. this my friends is a part of life.

I’m happy that this chapter of my life is over & I learned a lot, but, I prefer to not go back to those points if I don’t have to it was a rough time in my life & my family’s lives… we all had to make adjustments during my recovery.

I’m glad to say that I’ve written about this & shared my story with you all but I’m very grateful we can move on… 😉

Until next time! XO.
~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

20 responses »

    • Pushy therapists were a big key to my recovery Ashley. I thought they were awful at the time, but now, I’m forever greatful, because I’m able to do SO much that other TBI patients can’t… I’ve seen other TBI survivors… I’m one of a few that I know… it’s amazing to me.

  1. Brain injuries are very serious…my college roommate worked with people who had brain injuries and I know what she saw from day to day was not easy. Kudos to you for being able to come so far…it’s hard to believe anyone cannot realize that once you have a brain injury, you will be dealing with it forever. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had to deal with that Amber!

    • Hey- I’m okay, if they can’t deal with it, it’s there loss… 🙂 I’m know I am not the easiest person to deal with but it also has a lot to do with I’ve grown up a ton, I was only 22 when it happened, I’m 30, my life has changed… Thanks for experiencing my revisit of my accident with me Michelle!

  2. I am SO happy you can move on too, sweet soul sister!!!! I wish you could be 100% healed, but the blessings in how amazingly you did heal overall are miraculous!!! thank you for having the courage and strength to share such an incredidible story- you, my friend are amazing!

    Now go sing ALTO!!!!!!! I want to hear you!!!! Record yourself singing perrty!!! 🙂

    • It has been a definite emotional struggle to write, but, I’m happy that I did, & now it’s over. 😉 f*&k is SO an accident (MOST of the time- LOL) but it is a good one…LOL! I always struggle, due to my faith, I mean nothing ill willed by it, I just LOVE that word… haha! 🙂 crazy I know… Thank you for staying with me on my journey of sharing my story!

  3. amber, i’m so inspired by your story and your perseverance. you’ve come so far! i really enjoyed reading the whole series, too, and how you broke it up so that we could digest little by little the whole experience.

  4. What the? Amber I can’t believe this actually happened. I was hoping when I saw that photo that it wasn’t your car. I’m so sad that I had to read that it was. So glad to hear that you are much better these days. I know it must be hard. I can’t imagine having a brain injury. I know you say it is hard, but you are so precious and seem to be doing so well.

  5. Thank you for sharing your story, Amber. I hope it was cathartic for you to write it. You have such a zest for life and that come through in your writing – you clearly haven’t let your brain injury stop you!

    • I’m glad it’s over…. I’m happy, I shared it with some of my dearest & closest friends, but, happy to say I won’t have to write about it again (until you, Sweet T, & I write screenplays for it…)

  6. I have been wanting to read the car accident series for week now – and tonight, I finally had the chance to catch up. I don’t know what to say except that I’m speechless. You are a miracle. That you made it out of the car alive is a miracle. That you have recovered so well and so much is a miracle. You’re right. God wasn’t done with you, that’s for sure. But also, I can’t help but believe that part of why you have recovered the way you have is that you *are* Amber Day. I can’t wait to give your feisty little self a hug in person one day. For now, I am totally sending you one via the internet. There. xo

    • Oh my dear bloggy friend Ilene about “feisty” women all I can say is it takes one to know one! BaHaHaHa! LOL! I cannot wait to hug your neck totally in person when we see each other in person but I’m completely catching it virtually right now!! Love you, my friend! XO!

Leave a Reply

