Part III 120605

Standard
Part III 120605
image

Wrecked Sentra 2005.

I do recall the move from the ICU to the rehabilitation hall only because of the scenery change, the hallways looked different and my room was equipped different. It was this move that I got some of my memory back.

I finally started to remember people, faces, where I was, my words, I was beginning to talk again & for a little while it was like I was a teenager on the rehab floor at Moses Cone Memorial Hospital, my Momma said she would get so embarrassed because I every other word was a cuss word, that is a trait with traumatic brain injury (TBI) patients.

See, the way my head hit the driver side window it caused a piece of glass to go into my head and piercing my brain, causing me to be diagnosed with a TBI, I will never lose this diagnosis for the rest of my life. I will tell you, that the doctors told my mother to be prepared for me to never be able to take care of myself ever again. Doctors said I wouldn’t be able to drive, work, or very possibly be able to even bathe myself… Those doctors had no clue who they were talking about did they???

For example, I remember my baby brother, I call him my baby brother, he’s 2 years younger than me, however, he’s about 6’3ish so he’s not so little but he will always be my baby brother, my Bubby is what I call him, anyways, I don’t remember if I ever said this to him or if I just thought this, but, I am thinking I said because in my head he responds, I asked him “where have you been?” and he said “Amber, I do stop in and check on you, you just can’t remember & we have the same conversation…” You see, I had absolutely no short term memory for a long time in the hospital, although when I moved from ICU to the rehab unit I am pretty sure I remember that because I thought where am I but I couldn’t talk that well… Like half of my crap went missing from one room I remember it being there and then like I go to sleep and overnight they move me to the rehab floor from the ICU and none of my stuff is there and yes Momma, Sissy, and Bubby I was perturbed because I still think the 3rd shift nurses stole my stuff, and aren’t you proud of me? I didn’t curse? Gah…

By the way, Momma, I am still not sure how my stuff got missing, but, I’m being more mature and not cussing about it… See Sissy, I’m doing good, right?

Until next post… πŸ™‚

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

14 responses »

  1. This is an amazing story Amber! I can see it’s been a difficult road for you, but thank goodness those doctors were wrong! They aren’t always right. It’s amazing what our bodies can come back from. It must have been such a stressful time for all of you! SO glad it turned out well!

  2. I’ve stared at that photo for way too long. It’s tough to take. Even when I know you’re doing well now.

    If I were you, I’d use the injury as an excuse to curse all.the.time.

    Obviously, diagnoses are no match for spirit and tremendous will, now, are they?

    Makes me proud to know you.

    • You know me well by now, Eli, you can’t keep this bird down long! πŸ™‚

      I used the TBI excuse for everything for so long that everyong got to where they go “I’m sorry, it’s the brain injury” when I began to speak… it pissed me off so I stopped the excuses… LOL.

      No- I’m a very spunky one as you well know!

      Well- thank you sir! I’m proud to call you my friend. Xo.

Leave a Reply

