Part I: 120605

Standard

In 2005, I was 22 years old.

On December 6th, 2005, I was taking Kens to daycare & boom I hit black ice, slid in the middle of an neighborhood intersection, a box truck side swiped my 2005 Nissan Sentra, which sent me into a coma, keep in mind I had my daughter in the back of the car, Kensie had just turned 2 years old four days prior & we had celebrated her 2nd birthday 2 days prior. I was instantly put into a coma and Kensie had ONE scratch. The paramedics or fire department or some of those life saving people :-). used the jaws of life to get me out of the car because they couldn’t get to me. My newly two year old baby girl must have been panicky and squealing but I wouldn’t know, I was comatose, and I cannot remember anything of the actual accident at all.

image

I do remember my Momma fussing earlier that morning (I had left K’s father in April ’05 & moved in with my Momma for a bit until I could get on my feet) when we were leaving to be careful that the roads were slippery, but, me being that cocky 22 year old, blew it off… Kensie and I were listening to the musical CD of “RENT” on the way into Greensboro, in fact, I remember pulling up to a certain intersection & listening to “Take me or Leave me” Maureen and JoAnne sing this song and it is brilliantly sung, one of my favorite in the musical, oh who am I kidding, I love the entire Broadway show of RENT, genius work by Jonathan Larson. Ok- I promise, I will try to stay on topic…. (real quick below is a video from the cast doing the song on the stage!)

There’s not much more from that morning I remember. It is probably a good thing is what all the doctors sat but it is very frustrating to me, because I’m a tiny bit ADHD, OCD, & possibly control freak? I doubt it, but, I’m sure these good ole country boys will say she’s nuts, she is a HUGE control freak, so, I’m just throwing it out there.

I know parents whine about what a pain in the butt those LATCH carseats are, because, let’s face it they are, however, that technology saved my baby girl’s life that day, I was in a coma, and she had 1 scratch…. I still make her sit on that side of the car & when she had to ride and carseats, I always bought that brand because I swear it had good juju… Lol.

So I guess you guys want to hear my recovery story… Well… You will just have to wait for Part II. 🙂

Until Part II of 120605. 🙂

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

16 responses »

  1. I’ll be waiting. What a miracle that Kensie was fine and that you are still the beautiful, awesome person you have always been.

  2. I think the paramedics and docs were probably right, better you don’t remember than to replay it over and over in your mind which is what I would do. Angels were watching over you both that day! Watching and waiting for chapter II!

  3. This story is truly incredible… for your babygirl to manage to get out of this horrific scene with ONE scratch is undeniably a MIRACLE!! And for YOU to have survived? Another one. I have no words- other than GOD.

  4. Just read all three installments. Wow! I stopped in to catch up with you and read part 3 first. You should have seen how quickly I was clicking back to parts 1 & 2. Glad you’re okay sweetie. You’re one tough lady. Waving at you from NJ

Leave a Reply

