Happy Birthday, Baby Girl!!!

Standard
Happy Birthday, Baby Girl!!!

It was November 23rd, 2003. I was putting things away from my baby shower from the day before & I was on the phone with Kim (aka Auntie Kim- Kensie’s godmother)… I said to her  “Oh My God, Kim, pregnancy sucks, I just pissed my pants” she responds “call your mother, I think that could be your water breaking, & it’s WAY too early…” So I called my Momma &

she said “yep, you call Dr. Lathrop” (the awesomest OB/GYN there is in Greensboro, ladies if you are in Greensboro & looking I can hook you up- LOL) well I had told Dr. L that I wasn’t going unless she was on call… well, lucky for me, she was…

Dr. Lathrop & MacKensie!

Dr. Lathrop & MacKensie!

Which BTW- I was 28 weeks- I was WAY too early to deliver- at this point, when I got to Women’s Hospital, Dr. Lathrop immediately checked, my water had broken. Keep in mind, y’all, I was on bed rest my ENTIRE pregnancy due to some things in my body that just aren’t meant to have a baby, I am lucky to have MacKensie… so, I laid in bed at Women’s Hospital from November 23, 2013 until Dr. Lathrop went back on call (I was NOT delivering with anyone else… y’all think I am kidding, just ask her, she will laugh & say “I remember Amber Day, she’s feisty”) which was December 2…

Photo Collage with Me holding K!

Photo Collage with Me holding K!

Photo Collage with Grandma Day holding her "Kensie Girl"

Photo Collage with Grandma Day holding her “Kensie Girl”

So- Dr. Lathrop came in at 430am that morning to start whatever medicine to labor & believe it or not she had to break my water AGAIN…. then she said, “edipural? MacKensie is going to be a SMALL baby”. I looked at my Momma, (don’t judge, I don’t do anything without my Momma- I was only 20 also) & she said get the epidural so I say “yes ma’am”… I went through 2 vials of epidural, Dr. Lathrop had to break my water a THIRD time, crazy, I know… &  my stubborn daughter wasn’t born until 814pm that night & then instantly taken to the NICU until 12/22/2003 when I got bring her home & she has been WIDE open ever since…

Dynamite always comes in small packages is what they always say, right? Boy, oh boy, that saying is true!

MacKensie fit into her Christmas stocking that year (2003) (there's also a photo of her in Punkin Jon's motorcycle helmet, I couldn't locate it though...)

MacKensie fit into her Christmas stocking that year (2003) (there’s also a photo of her in Punkin Jon’s motorcycle helmet, I couldn’t locate it though…)

Happy TENTH BIRTHDAY, my LITTLE BIT, Baby Girl, Kensie, I love you, to the moon & back & back again!!!!!!

Me &my KK!!!

Me &my KK!!!

Kensie's 10th Birthday!!!

Kensie’s 10th Birthday!!!

XOXOXOXOXOXO!

~Momma~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

20 responses »

  1. Good things definitely come in small packages!! Happy, happy birthday to your sweet Kensie! 10 is a big milestone!! Double digits!! She is beautiful!! (just like her mama!) –Lisa

  2. I hope she has a fantastic birthday! And I was only 19 when I had my son. I had no idea what I was doing. Heck, fast forward to now and I’m 31 and I STILL don’t know what I’m doing most of the time.

  3. Oh my goodness, Amber! You have a 10 year old. I had no idea that you could be beyond your 20s! You look amazing! And like you’ve never had a baby. 🙂 Happy Birthday to your baby girl. I love her name.

  4. She just takes after her mama, that’s all. Does things her own way, in her own time and at her own pace…FAST! 🙂

Leave a Reply

