NaBloPoMo- November 19, 2013

Standard
NaBloPoMo- November 19, 2013

NaBloPoMo- November 2013

NaBloPoMo- November 2013


WooWee, this daily prompt is a tough one for me… “how much of your day are you ‘plugged in’ & when do you disconnect for the day?” BaHaHaHa! Disconnect, for the day- whaaaaaaaattttt????

My generation was the guinea pig kids to a ton of stuff, you think it is easy for me to ‘disconnect’? I remember when there was no internet, but, I also remember getting my first email address am2cheer@hotmail.com (I don’t have this email address anymore, I decided it was time to grow up around 2005, when I was 22 years old… LOL) & my instant message account on AOL which was am2cheer as well… around 1997ish, I don’t remember the exact year, I was the wild & wooly, middle child… & my dear old daddy was a preacher man so yep, I was a PK, so, yes, I have very vivid teenage story lines…

What about y’all, is it easy for y’all to disconnect? If so, do you guys possibly have some tips for me? I believe that I could be driving my dear ole Hubs crazy with all this social media geek stuff…

Until next time!!!
~A~

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

10 responses »

  1. I’m OLD…like OLD old levels of old. I didn’t even have a CD player until college (because NOBODY did). I didn’t regularly use email until I was a chief resident. I was 28-ish? Given that I lived an entire chunk of my life without internet or being plugged in at all, it’s surprising that I have no advice or helpful tips. I am now plugged in all the time. (and when I’m not, I get a bit twitchy) I will await the advice of everyone else, too!! –Lisa

  2. Oh, I’m with you! I am plugged in most of the time. Occasionally, in the evenings my hubby will make a comment implying that I need to turn off the computer and spend time with him (what a concept, right?), os I do, but it’s hard. I will say a couple weeks ago, I was going to take one of my girls to her gymnastics class. Another had to tag along and wanted to bring some stupid, our toy. I said no, she argued -anyway, at some point she said “Well, you’re just going to sit there on your phone the whole time!” Have to admit she was right and that was a really tough pill to swallow!

  3. I’m pretty plugged in. If I’m in the car, I get motion sick from looking at the phone. If I’m out in public or with friends and/or family, I won’t look at the phone. At home with guests? I am not plugged in.

    The rest of life is fair game, though!

    • Awwww, motion sickness- you poor thing… I’m always on- even with friends, girls night they tried one time to put our phones in a pile in the middle of the table & first one to grab theirs bought next round for everyone… needless to say, my tab was expensive that night. LOL

  4. I try REAL REAL hard to unplug after school and often during the evening before they go to bed. But it’s so hard if somethings going ON!! But when my daughter asked me to, I decided it was time to re-prioritize… and I only plug back in when she is with a friend or doing school work she doesn’t need help with.
    I am never plugged in when I am out and about- with friends, in group, or with hubs.

  5. You don’t even want to know how much I am plugged in. I love social media. But I can step away. And I can turn off my phone. But when I am home working…it’s on. I may not be looking at it, but it’s on.

Leave a Reply

