NaBloPoMo- Nov. 7 name change

Standard
NaBloPoMo- Nov. 7 name change

NaBloPoMo- November 2013

NaBloPoMo- November 2013



Happy Friday eve, y’all!!! The BlogHer NaBloPoMo daily prompt is quite funny in that it simply asks “if you could change your name, what would it be?”

Well- y’all, funny story here- every little girl dreams about when they get married becoming that Mrs. his first name & last well Not ME. You see, I had built my career as a communications sales person as Amber Day, everyone knows me as Amber Day, period. Welp- after we were married, days went by, weeks went by, a few months went by, one night we were sitting at supper & I blurted out (which I’m sure you all can imagine, I regularly do- I just can’t keep my big mouth closed) “Look, honey, I love you, apparently we are going to be together for awhile & this whole marriage thing is going to work so I reckon I will add your name but only if the Social Security Administration sees fit to let me keep ALL of my names, I mean we are living in 2012 & I do not understand why I have to give up any part of me when you, just because you are a man & you have a weird part hanging between your legs, that means you get to keep all of you & I have to give up part of me…”

Our wedding day!!!

The Hubs & me!!! Our wedding day!!!

He just shook his head & simply said “I would love for you to add my name to yours, that would mean a lot to me, thank you.” That was the end of the discussion. So- the next day- feisty ole Amber Day trots my hot mess down to Social Security Administration, in my 3″ heels no less, & is ready with my 5 minute speech about how I have paid into the system & I only deem it fair that I should be able to ALL of my names!!!

 

 

The nice gentleman says to me in mid-sentence (1st sentence- BTW) “Ma’am (I keep talking), Ma’am (still ranting over him) MA’AM! (I finally shut up)”

“Yes sir” I respond…

“Ma’am” he says very calmly, “what I’ve been trying to tell you is that you can keep ALL of your names, it is not a problem.”

“But, sir, I planned a 5 minute speech & everything for your office to hear, are you sure you don’t need to hear it?” I ask.

“No ma’am, I’ve already processed the paperwork Mrs. Day space Hicks, no hyphen because you think it looks weird, correct?” he asks…

“Yes sir” I answer very sad & meekly.

& just like that, my name change was complete, so after all the fight of the marriage & name change issue I would not change my name ever again for any reason!!!

Until tomorrow, y’all have a great afternoon!

~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

21 responses »

  1. i wrote about this very thing yesterday. i took my husband’s name on the marriage certificate, but otherwise have retained my maiden name.

  2. hahaha! I’m sorry but that is so funny what you said about preparing a speech and don’t they need to hear it? (I do)
    And hyphens do look weird.

    • I really wanted them to hear my 5 minute speech! (Probably less time then that, you know I’m your dramatic friend…) I’m okay with someone else doing the hyphen thing but me nada, Jack, you are right,- they are weird…lol

  3. Hahahahahahaha!! I love that he even made sure he had the correct reason for the no hyphen down pat!! That is hysterical!! It’s too bad your excellent speech was unnecessary! I bet it was feisty!! –Lisa

    • Lisa- my speech was perfectly planned & would have been executed beautifully & frankly I am still a little pissed I didn’t get to ramble it out, it was awesome & would have been stated grammatically right with punctuation placed ever so correctly… Ugh!

  4. I remember thinking when Hubby and I got married, I was 25 and thought I was OLD, that I would be 50 years old before I was married name as long as I was maiden name me. Weird! 50 is old…oh wait, I’m closer to that number now and it doesn’t seem NEARLY as old! My maiden name and married name didn’t roll off the tongue so I stuck to married name. I used to dream of changing my first name though because EVERYONE wants to shorten it to Angie. Now I ask you, am I an Angie??? NOOOOOOO

  5. I have a VERY similar story, except they told me I had to hyphenate if I wanted to keep all four names, which I did NOT want. So I dropped the name I am called by for a while, and then I ended up dropping my maiden name later. So confusing. I needed your five-minute speech!!

Leave a Reply

