November 1st- My daily post- Day 1! :) NaBloPoMo

Standard
November 1st- My daily post- Day 1! :) NaBloPoMo

Good Mornin’ Y’all!!! Happy November everyone!!!

I LOVE this time of year! Any of you that know me know that this is ABSOLUTELY my favorite time of year… SO I googled some photos & LOOK what I found…

autumn_leaves2

gorgeous FALL leaves & water- TWO of my FAVORITE things… AH- I’m hearing Julie Andrews singing in my head…


So- I’ve participated in the NaBloPoMo daily prompts before & I thought I would join in again for the month of November with http://www.blogher.com. I wanted to let everyone know that I may follow the guided prompts on some days & then some days I may not. This NaBloPoMo suggestions are that we bloggers commit to write a post every day, of course, Β as a Momma, I try not to write on Saturday & Sunday even when I commit to NaBloPoMo due to the fact that this is family time & hopefully the blogisphere understands my commitment to my family.

Onto today’s post, which is about money, specifically $1 million dollars. My readers who know me & my story are aware that in my younger 20’s, I suffered a car accident which caused me to be in a coma for 21 days & suffer a traumatic brain injury or TBI as an acronym. I am fine now, life has been quite an adjustment & there are posts you can read back about & I am currently in the process of documenting a more accurate timeline of everything that happened to me & adjustments that needed to be made in order to live a happy and well ADJUSTED life!

Anyways- prior to my accident, I was a very determined sales person with high goals & big dreams & dollar signs in my eyes. I didn’t care who I stepped on to get there.

money!

money!

I was very materialistic & I thought it didn’t matter who I trampled over, friend, foe, family member, or not, Β to get ahead but I was going to get wherever I needed to get there, period. It was BAD… when My Hubs & I first began working at the same telecommunications company in 2004 when I was married to my first husband (divorced not long after though).

bathing in cash while indulging in wine... that's just germy... all those germs on the money... BLAH! Yucky...

bathing in cash while indulging in wine… that’s just germy… all those germs on the money… BLAH! Yucky…

You see he’s a very skilled voice telecommunications installation engineer, so, all of the telecommunications systems I sold, he would install. Well- If he didn’t install the system to MY expectations, I would show my rearend & he would, in turn, not scream back at me (he is not a screamer) simply explain to me in some ridiculous GEEKED out method (he can go super geek man in a heartbeat) that the phone system COULD NOT work like that & if I would have used my brain & asked him before selling the system to the client & making promises that would never work then maybe I would not look like a “COMPLETE IDIOT!”(we know a phone system is an inanimate object & doesn’t have wings so I should have never promised that in the beginning anyways) Yes- he would talk to me just like that- he despised me in my early 20’s, he rolled his eyes & laughed at me. He would snicker, he was just down right mean… LOL.

My dear sweet Hubs didn’t like me until after my accident, everything I stated in my first sentence, he will tell you is spot on accurate & true. I love him for his honesty & the fact that he NEVER gave up on me… xo, Hubs.

Our Engagement photo!

Our Engagement photo!

You see before my accident- I was all about me- I was that selfish 20 something kid, but, after my accident, I became WAY more humble, I realized that GOD gave me another chance at life & that I had been BLESSED to be able to watch my baby girl grow up & little did I know that God had a plan for me to be with this man, the Hubs…

the Hubs & I on our Honeymoon in Savannah, Georgia!

the Hubs & I on our Honeymoon in Savannah, Georgia!

So- my car accident has messed up a lot of things in body physically but I can tell you that I have things that I would not have if I still had not had that humbling attitude adjustment that God gave me from the “coma car accident” as my family calls it. (My family calls it that because I am a HORRIBLE driver & I am notorious for wrecking vehicles, just sayin’…LOL)

So- y’all there’s my insight today, about how money isn’t everything & how my view about how money changes attitudes. Today, I could care less about money. Right now, I am hanging out with the family, looking for some part time work possibly, entertaining the idea of going back to school, tell you the truth- I have NO clue what I am going to do, but, I do know that God is speaking directly to me- He’s almost screaming “Amber, it’s almost time for you to do something” now I just have to figure out what God wants me to do… so keep me in your prayers folks…

Until next time, I am going to let y’all rock out to one of my fave songs, Martina McBride & Be Blessed, folks!

~A~

12 responses »

  1. For me, money is a means to an end. It’s the means which I use to provide a home, food, and necessities for my family. If there’s enough of it then there’s luxuries that I provide as well. Having more of it than I need is a luxury, one I enjoy when it happens but never take for granted because it doesn’t last LONG!

  2. Well, you’re a girl of many talents – you’ll find your dream/love/passion, if you haven’t already that is. It’s nice to find out more about you. I know there were some tough times. I think it’s so fascinating that you and your husband didn’t like each other in your “before” life. I love stories like this. It’s like a movie!

    • Thank you, Tamara. I will get there, wherever there may be… πŸ™‚ hence my lovely bodyart- not all who wander are lost. I’m not lost, I just don’t know where I’m going… LOL!

      Yes- he and I worked together for 5 yrs & despised each other… it was awful! Work & home personalities are definitely different. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reading & Happy Friday, love. XO.

  3. Wow. YES!! I’ll tell you, I didn’t have a traumatic accident like you, but as I got older, I learned what you already know. Money isn’t everything. It’s happiness that makes the world go around. Tamara is so right! Your love story is like a movie or a romantic book!! They don’t like each other at first but you know there is chemistry there and…BAM!! What a great post!! –Lisa

    • I really thought that $ was everything, had my Louis Vuitton & Gucci & Coach crap to prove it.. now I’m tie dye, birkenstocks, Janis Joplin, & you are lucky if my hair has been washed… LOL.

      Oh- that’s only the tip on the iceberg tease with our story… πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading today, Lisa! Happy Friday! XO.

  4. It’s so easy to get caught up in wanting stuff and wishing I had more. But, the truth is that I have everything I need and so much more. I am blessed in so many ways and appreciate the reminder to be grateful for why I already have!

  5. This is such an awesome post! What an amazing realization about life. So brave of you to be transparent and share your story! I never knew what happened since I’m a fairly new reader, but I’m so glad that you are happier and able to focus more on what matters most in life πŸ™‚

    • Well you tuned in at the right time, Brittnei, because there aren’t many who do know all my stories, I have tons, especially to 30… Stay tuned for more stories πŸ™‚

      I am very happy with where I am in my life and I know that is all the blessing from God.

      Thanks for tuning today & Happy Friday! XO. πŸ™‚

  6. This is such an inspiring post with a very heartfelt message–thanks for the sweet reminder of what’s important in life!

    Oh! I nominated you for a Sunshine Award here: http://www.lovingmarshall.com/2013/10/feeling-blogging-sunshine-in-seattle.html

    I may have already told you that–I can’t remember! But at the risk of repeating myself–I think you’re awesome, and I’m so grateful for all the comments and support you’ve given me as I started this blogging journey. πŸ™‚

    • Awwww! You’re not repeating yourself & thank you SO much! You’ve got such an awesome story to tell & I’m glad to be along for the ride to hear it. XOXO! πŸ™‚ Happy Saturday & Thank you!

Leave a Reply

