“Wing it Wild Woman Red Potato Soup”!!!!!!!

Standard
“Wing it Wild Woman Red Potato Soup”!!!!!!!

Happy Friday Y’all!!!

As it gets colder, I start making soups & stews like some mad crazy lady… no lie… my freezer stocks up because there’s only 3 of us so it works out & we have soups & stews coming out of ears but we are just now getting started in the cold season so I don’t have anything saved from last season, blah blah…

So- Bubba & I planned a Low Country Boil for the surprise supper party & I think we may have over bought the red potatoes because I had purchased 15lbs of red potatoes & had 12.5 red potatoes left (cooked of course) and the Hubs said what are you gonna do with all these potatoes??? I say that’s easy, potato soup!

So below is my “Wing it Wild Woman Red Potato Soup” recipe!!! Hope y’all Enjoy!!!

12.5 red potatoes- cooked, peeled, sliced, & cubed in big stock pot.

potatoes, sliced.

potatoes, sliced.

1 medium onion- chopped & sauteed with (1) TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil in small pan.

2 garlic cloves- minced & sauteed with (1) TBSP Butter in same small pan along with onion.

onions & garlic sauteed.

onions & garlic sauteed.

Pour onions & garlic in big potato pot.

Add (1) cup of half & half.

Add (3) cups of chicken broth.

Add 1/2 stick of melted butter.

potato soup combined...

potato soup combined…

Add 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar cheese & 1/2 cup of Monterrey jack cheese & bring to a simmer.

Finished potato soup still in pot.

Finished potato soup still in pot.

I fried a couple of pieces of bacon to crumble into the soup at the end & I saved some Monterrey jack cheese & some sharp cheddar cheese to sprinkle on top in each bowl.

Salt & Pepper to taste of course.

Final plate- red potato soup with bacon bits & shredded cheese!

Final plate- red potato soup with bacon bits & shredded cheese!

I froze the leftovers in a gallon size bag (probably could have done it in a quart size bag) but this is another to add to the freezer to put up for another rush dinner… I LOVE being able to pull things out of my freezer & I love my crock pot!!!

Happy Friday Y’all!

~A~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

31 responses »

    • Frozen potatoes shouldn’t be a problem, especially if you are going to slow cook in the crockpot… I used the stockpot over the oven but crockpot will accomplish the same thing! Frozen potatoes leave frozen in crockpot I would thaw a tad if you cook over oven in a stockpot 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Happy Saturday!

  1. I was looking for another way to use red potatoes since they are lower in carbs than other types of potatoes and I love potato soup – what a great way to combine those two. Can’t wait to try it. Stopping by from SITTSharefest.

  2. Yum, I love potato soup. I’ve never made it at home but his recipe looks easy enough to try this weekend, especially since it’s supposed to snow again. Thanks for sharing! Visiting from LOBS.

  3. I love potato soup on cold winter days and we’ve had our share here in NC this month. I’m ready for Spring. In the meantime, I will be trying out your recipe, I’ve never tried it with red potato and Monterrey Jack cheese. Sounds good!

    Thanks for linking up with my Small Victories Sunday linky and hope you found some great bloggers in the linky. Hope you continue to share your posts with us Amber!

Leave a Reply

