“Let’s go racing”

Standard

So, how many of you have ever ran marathon? It is hard work from what I’ve been told, I’ve only done a 5K and that was walking it (I promise, y’all, I’m working on the post about why some things are the way they are within me, but, it is taking WAY long than I ever thought it would), anyways,  At the end of that race, there are people you have never met before, but, there they are cheering for you, saying “come on, you can finish the race”, right?
image

I was sitting in church a few of Sundays ago, it was Homecoming Sunday, 2013 at Muir’s Chapel United Methodist Church. I grew up in this church, christened in this church, sang in this church, youth group here, my Momma works at playschool, my Daddy realized his calling here, he is also buried here, Kens was christened here, the Hubs, Kens and I go to church here… Muir’s Chapel has been home for me since I was a baby…. Anyways….Reverend Vance Lowe didn’t realize he had given me a blog post while he was preaching, but, he did, so, thank ya, Vance!!!

Vance’s scripture was Hebrews 12:1-3 which I read out of the NIRV and it reads as follows:

“A huge cloud of witnesses is all around us. So let us throw off everything that stands in our way. Let us throw off any sin that holds on to us so tightly. Let us keep on running the race marked out for us. Let us keep looking to Jesus. He is the author of faith. He also makes it perfect. He paid no attention to the shame of the cross. He suffered there because of the joy he was looking forward to. Then he sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. He put up with attacks from sinners. So think about him. Then you won’t get tired. You won’t lose hope.”

I kind of get really excited reading these on verses over and over again. If I’m reading correctly, it says as long as we keep looking towards Jesus we won’t get tired & we won’t lose hope…. The cloud of witnesses is like our own personal cheering section of those folks have at the marathons, what what?!?!?! That is awesome! When we are losing our faith or struggling at something, we should always know we have God on our side, but, sometimes who we don’t consider is the cheering section, ya know- like- our family, church family, friends, sometimes it’s even someone you don’t know face to face but you’ve grown close to online, I know I have lots of connections like that, that is the cheering section we need to think about in our race of life!

I’m gonna go run the race of life, folks, how about you? If you need someone cheering for you, let me know, I will cheer for you & I am sure there are others in the social media community that will as well, let us know.

Until next time, keep looking forward.
~A~

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

20 responses »

  1. I am a marathoner! I am currently training AND injured (I write a running blog for the San Antonio Express News), but that won’t stop me. I LOVE to hear/read about folks running, so you GO GET ‘EM! Wish I was there to run with you or at the very least to cheer you on.

  2. I know you are speaking about the race of life, but I am a runner. I love the way you used the analogy. 🙂 Happy Monday Amber!

  3. Aw! This was wonderful!! I cannot run a marathon, but this kind of race is up my alley! I will be your cheerleader in the race of life, too!! You can’t have too many people cheering you on and praying for you! –Lisa

  4. The sermon at our church inspired me the other day, too. It was about how God will help us but that the Grace happens while we’re in motion. Like how the football player has to run to where the quarterback is GOING to throw the ball on the Faith that the ball will be there, and the quarterback throws the ball towards an empty spot on the field on the Faith that the receiver will get there and catch it. We can’t stand on the sidelines and wait for God to give us the Grace to achieve our goals, we have to start moving forward and trust that God is going to give us what we need while we’re on our journey. Cool, right?

  5. Hi Amber! LOVED this! Yes, the race is not given to the fast or the strong, but to him who endures to the end! And looking unto Jesus, who is the author and finisher of our faith!! Thanks for the motivation to keep pressing! 🙂 Stopping by from Saturday Sharefest!

Leave a Reply

