Ariel Believed to Achieve, so can you!!!

Standard
Ariel Believed to Achieve, so can you!!!

Who doesn’t love Disney’s The Little Mermaid?

image

I have a quick story to tell you. The summer of my 3rd grade year, I was being a show off at a friend’s house one night and decided to rollerblade backward down one of my friend’s slanted driveway, not the best idea, but, you guys know by now if you read my blog often you are aware that my hindsight is always 20/20 after the fact I always go “hmmm, probably shouldn’t have done that…” I’m an impulse person. Anyways, I was flying down the driveway fast slid under a parked car, when my friend’s dad got me out from under the car (I probably weighed about 65lbs and was like 8 or 9 years old), I looked down at my left arm and my wrist bones were sitting on top off my left hand, I immediately began squealing for my Daddy, scaring everyone because they could not calm me down, well everyone, but, my Momma, she’s a tough cookie! Daddy was with my baby brother in the mountains. So- Momma & my friend’s parents take me, the bawling drama queen, to the emergency room & I literally bawled until my Daddy got there & when he got there suddenly like the sky parted and the sun started to shine…all was better again… see, I told y’all- I really am a daddy’s girl- he could fix anything…. Somehow he got there from the mountains like Superman, because he was…. Anyways… I had broken my arm in (3) different places & casted from my shoulder all the way to my fingertips, during the Summer… I don’t know if y’all remember me tellin’ y’all, but, my Momma, bless her heart, taught all three of us how to swim when we were basically just fresh out of pampers. LOL. It is summer and I’m casted to my shoulder… (my 3rd & final half cast only up to my elbow- my parents did spend some money we didn’t have (my family didn’t have any money, we were a money poor family, I was raised on a ton of laughs & a lot of love, that was enough for me!) & we ate hamburger helper for awhile but I was able to swim the last 3 weeks of Summer thank goodness!) When we got home, Momma said I want you to sleep on the couch for now to make sure you can get to the bathroom and around OK, so, do you know what movie we watched ON REPEAT, I might add, for 3 months straight? Yep- The Little Mermaid!

image

I took SO much from what Ariel did when I was a little girl growing up watching it for 3 months straight, every single day, my whole family can still quote it,(awesomeness!), that I instill in my 9-year old daughter every time we watch this movie still today.  Ariel had dreams for something bigger in life & she never let go of that bigger picture. Obstacles got in Ariel’s way, Sebastian (Bless his heart) thought she couldn’t do it, yet, she was going to attain her goal. That is a big point, Ariel overcame every obstacle and achieved her goals and that is what I have learned from The Little Mermaid as a child and that is what I will continue to discuss & point out with my daughter, Kensie, as a woman, you can do anything you set your mind to! Believe to Achieve!

image

Thank you Disney for an awesome message!

I would imagine most of your little girls (boys too!) would love to discover The Little Mermaid with you!

Not only can you bring home The Little Mermaid to your family to enjoy, but also – you have a chance to win a $50 Visa Gift Card and a Little Mermaid Diamond Edition Blu-ray Combo Pack.  Just leave me a comment and tell me: How do you encourage your children to follow their dreams?

Rules:
No duplicate comments.
You may receive (2) total entries by selecting from the following entry methods:
a) Leave a comment in response to the sweepstakes prompt on this post
b) Tweet (public message) about this promotion; including exactly the following unique term in your tweet message: “”#SweepstakesEntry””; and leave the URL to that tweet in a comment on this post”
c) Blog about this promotion, including a disclosure that you are receiving a sweepstakes entry in exchange for writing the blog post, and leave the URL to that post in a comment on this post
d) For those with no Twitter or blog, read the official rules to learn about an alternate form of entry.
This giveaway is open to US Residents age 18 or older. Winners will be selected via random draw, and will be notified by e-mail. You have 72 hours to get back to me, otherwise a new winner will be selected.
The Official Rules are available here.
This sweepstakes runs from 9/9/13 – 10/15/13.
Be sure to visit the Disney’s Little Mermaid page on BlogHer.com where you can read other bloggers’ reviews and find more chances to win!

*In exchange for this blog post, I have received a sweepstakes entry, however, my feelings, opinions, & stories are accurate and true.*

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

16 responses »

  1. I let my daughter really talk to me about her dreams, and for many of them, we brainstorm ways to make them possible. We have gotten through a lot of them. She’s only four, and many to come.

    That story is terrifying about your wrist, you poor thing! Glad Ariel could keep you company!

    • It is SO cool that you are involved in S’s dreams! That’s awesome.

      My poor family still walks around horrified about those long 3 months where we watch it over & over, my baby bro just had a daughter & his wife said I can’t wait til she can watch Little Mermaid & he said NO I recite the entire movie word for word for her…lol.

      Thanks, I am SO glad Ariel was there, too!

  2. Pingback: Hey, it’s okay Tuesday!!! | just me trying to figure out farm life.

Leave a Reply

