Roundabouts

Standard

Well due to the fact it is the dreaded Monday, I don’t want you to all have the Monday blues…

I haven’t been through the little town of Randleman in a while but I am going to soon, I have to get my movie “Pitch Perfect” back like ASAP… lol.

Anyways, take a look a the below photo…

image

Who can tell me what that crap is?Β  Anyone know?

Well- I can tell you! It is the dumbest invention ever created to traffic known to mankind… The roundabout! Correct. Why on God’s green earth would anyone invent them some might ask. I have no friggin clue, so, I decided to go to the internet, because, everything you read on the internet is true right? LOL. Anyway…

image

“A roundabout is a type of circular intersection or junction in which road traffic is slowed and flows almost continuously in one direction around a central island to several exits onto the various intersecting roads.[1] In a modern roundabout, entering traffic must always yield to traffic already in the circle, and roundabouts have additional restrictions on the junction layout to give high safety. Elimination of the opportunity for the most deadly crashes at intersections (T-bone or perpendicular crashes) is the greatest benefit of the roundabout design.

image

Pedestrians are routed away from the intersection, to separate crosswalks located at least one full car length outside of the intersection, where they have a refuge between lanes of traffic. Consequently pedestrians only have to cope with traffic that is coming from one direction at a time, and which is travelling slowly enough for visual engagement with drivers, encouraging deference towards the pedestrians. Roundabouts, in their modern form, were standardised in the UK, improving on the experience of traffic circles built in the U.S. following WWII. Modern roundabouts are now common in many countries.

The word roundabout dates from the early twentieth century.[1] In the U.S., the term traffic circle is used where entering traffic is either controlled by stop signs, traffic signals, or is not formally controlled at all and speed of vehicles may remain unchanged. The term roundabout is reserved for circular flow intersections where entering traffic must yield to traffic already in the circle, so that traffic is calmed and flow through the intersection is maximized along with the highest safety for pedestrians and cyclists.[2] Not all modern roundabouts are strictly circular, some being elongated to include several former intersections, but the traffic always flows in a loop.” (From Wikipedia.com)

Now, all useless information aside, one may ask, “Amber, what is your issue with roundabouts?” & as you guys already know I really suck at driving, no, like REALLY SUCK AT DRIVING, so, what does DOT do in Randleman? They put in (2) friggin’ roundabouts back to back.

One day Sabrina & I go to grab some food, I wasn’t really paying attention, blah blah, the roundabouts crept up on me, and poor little ole Brina (y’all know-one of the besties) is about peein’ her britches, she’s grabbing the “oh shit” handle, saying “please God- she may not behave, but, I really have been a good girl and I have tried to make her be a better person”, as I go flying through the roundabouts, with a stoggie hanging outta my mouth (this was then I was still a smoker), blaring some John Mayer (I realize now all of these actions don’t go together- however, none of my life actions really matches at all anyways…), Sabrina is crying “Amber, you were not paying attention at all, you just cut those two cars off! Gosh…” I say “Hey, we made it, right…” (Which I don’t know if there are any Randleman folk who read my blog on wordpress or just FB, but, has there ever been accidents where they took down streetlights & put in stupid roundabouts?????)

image

Me & Brina with Mimosas NOT worried about roundabouts!

She looked at me and chuckled, but, that was the last time my best friend rode with me through the stupid roundabouts…

Now- for a clip from European Vacation! This is my FAVORITE part of this movie!!!!

image

Griswolds go through a roundabout!

European Vacation- Griswolds’ & Roundabout clip!

Until next time, I hope you can stay away from roundabouts… BLAH!

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

8 responses »

    • Ok- so, I would be one of those to drive you crazy because we don’t (or didn’t until recently) have ’em πŸ™‚ sorry darlin’ (just remember, I suck at driving). I’m not sure how to navigate in ’em but they seem like a ton of wasted tax money to build, why would you not just keep the roads straight???

    • Me either- that’s why I just go pile driving flying like an airplane through them… lol. I told y’all I’m a bad driver. LOL. I blame it on Richard Petty (not the bad driving- the driving fast part), as we lived 2 houses from Petty Enterprises during my teen years…lol- sorry RP!

  1. We call them rotary here, and they were circles in New Jersey. Not only that, but in Jersey the inside of the circle had to yield, and outside of Jersey, the outside of the circle has to yield. (I may have that backwards).

Leave a Reply

