Sing off Sunday! “Jolene”

Standard

Okay y’all!

Woo- this one was a tough one to digest at first especially when I saw who was singing the song. Nobody in their right mind, but, Dolly Parton in my opinion should sing “Jolene”. Well that’s what I thought before I did some research. Anyways, here’s Dolly singing her fabulous version of “Jolene”:
Dolly Parton singing “Jolene” live at the Grand Ole Opry

Side note here- when discussing my opinions, please keep in mind- my 9th grade social studies teacher, dear fella that Mr. C. is, anyways, he said to me “Amber, I know you are very opinionated and you think everyone should agree with you (they should still today). Amber, I should not say this to you because I’m your teacher (he was a 1st or 2nd year teacher at the time). Mr C. told me, “Amber, opinions are like assholes and some stink, so ,don’t cuss people out, just be the bigger person that I know you are and walk away.” Now only if I had listened to him- my life would be completely different and people could be running over me, like you do when you are vacuuming carpet.LOL. No. Mr.C. gave excellent advice and that particular speech I make fun of right now, however, there is a ton of truth in it & I am SO glad he said that to me 16 years ago, Gah, Mr. C. you are getting old… 🙂

The challenger version, woo, I know I am going to make some heads spin, eyes spit fire, and my phone will be lighting up after church. I am prepared. I’ve pre-written this so of course I’ve warned the hubs & Kens to stand guard just in case & unplug all phones, turn the electronic devices off, no it isn’t that bad, well I hope not, but, she’s ruined her reputation…. Ok- y’all ready, hold on to your seats… Miley Cyrus. Look, check it folks, I know she has done some trashy things lately & she went from good girl Hannah Montana to whaaaat VMA-HUH? Be open minded and if you have to close your eyes & listen to the band pickin’ & the vocals…. I’m very impressed, she still is talented, she has just ruined her name socially, like, my fave, John Mayer (who Bubba doesn’t care for, I have a theory for that dislike also…lol, anyways) This version is purdy good also, check it out:
Miley Cyrus singing “Jolene”

OK guys, I am not going to tell y’all which one is my favorite, as a matter of fact, I’m very confused right now, because I actually like Miley’s version as well, my life would be SO much easier if I didn’t. I’m surrounded all the time by musicians, whether it be with my daughter and her stuff, in church, Bubba and his bluegrass stuff, there are a couple of local bands I really dig that I will write about eventually… I used to be a singer, heavily in vocal ensemble, big in theater, I understand all of this… Now I am SO confused…LOL

Anyways, until next time.
(If there is a particular song you would like to see in sing off Sunday, song- not Artist- feel free to email me at amber@citygirlonhicksfarm.com)

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

4 responses »

  1. I actually really like her old stuff. Like “Climb”. I’m hoping she comes off her pedestal and records some better stuff soon. I’m going to have to give Jolene a little to!

Leave a Reply

