1st day of 4th grade

Standard

This morning, we did not oversleep, we left the farm on time, we get into the car… oops, Momma doesn’t have her license or wallet, I get the clutch containing the license & start the car…. OMG, Kens says- “Momma are we going to have enough gas to get me to school?”

I’m officially almost panicking… it’s 720 in the morning, Kensie’s godfather, Punkin Jon (she has called him that since she could talk) usually comes and saves me when I do stupid things like this but I pretty sure that he’s working like 4 hours away this morning… I could call the Hubs & Bubba but oh the embassasment, I say “K, why not go to the gas station before school?” She says “Mom, really? I’m going to be late my 1st day of 4th grade…” I said “fine”… I’m in front of school by now thinking ooh there’s Auntie Kim (y’all know, one of my best friends- Punkin Jon’s wife) Kensie says “well, there’s Auntie Kim, y’all could stand on the side of the road together after you drop me off when you break down & try to figure out what to do…” when the crap did my kid become me better yet, the sassy me? Someone please tell me… ugh!

Anyways- so we pull into the 3rd-5th grade drop off line & that song “Don’t you forget about me” comes on the radio so what does this Momma do? Oh yeah- hippie dance! Perfect song… I like the Pitch Perfect movie version better though… check it out… it starts around minute 1:02 in this youtube clip but I love the whole thing… just sayin’… I love the whole movie!

So- Kens flips out because not only am I blaring this song from whenever the original was (I think I was a preschooler) but I start hippie dancing at her school, not the best idea, now that I think of it now, but, whatever, I am an impulse person…. hindsight is always 20/20, and I am a in the moment person, so is she… she will figure that out in about 6 months to 12 months…

My child didn’t want me to walk her in (1st time EVER) & then when I dropped her off she didn’t even say goodbye, talked to all the teachers and completely ignored her Momma looking like an idiot about to cry my head off. Can you believe that junk???? How rude? It cannot be because I hippie danced, I’ve been doing that her whole life. My child is really easy going & pretty laid back to be my kid, but, she’s definitely a drama queen too… she is my Mini Me. I hope she has an awesome 1st day even though she didn’t acknowledge her mother who slaved away in a kitchen so she could have fresh homemade chicken salad for school & homemade granola bars. I made sure she clean clothes on her back & smelled like a girl… what else could she need?

Until next time, go watch Pitch Perfect… I got it back from Toni after like 6 months (she wrapped it & gave it back to me for my birthday!- that was the best birthday present BTW, LOL) & then lent it to Brina (she’s gonna fix my brows later this week, so I will get it back soon)

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

