1 day before my “25th” birthday (again)

Standard

I just wanted to take a minute to say goodbye to my 20’s, all joking aside, my 30th birthday is tomorrow, I welcome my 30’s with open arms.

My 20’s were hard. I was 19 and a half when my daddy passed away so just go ahead and lump that into my 20’s in day after Christmas in 2002.

The next year, 2003, (I was 20 years old now) my daughter was born 7 weeks premature and was in the NICU for 21 days, we brought her home the day before Christmas eve.

In 2004, my paternal grandfather passed away day after Christmas in 2004, I was 21 years old in 2004.

In 2005, in December of course because that’s the Days favorite Month…. I had a horrible accident that deserves its own blog about it and the recovery of that accident. I was 22 years old when the accident happened, I will let you all know it did put me in a coma for 21 days.

In 2007, my precious Momma was diagnosed with breast cancer, she was diagnosed in June/ July but had a double mastectomy guess when? If I remember correctly (which could be wrong) it was around Thanksgiving/ Christmas… I was 24 years old.

I’m sure there’s more I’ve just forgotten/ blocked out by now…

In between all of this, I’ve wrecked and totaled 2 cars, I’m an awful driver, my dear daddy always said that I need a chauffeur instead of driving myself, I think the Hubs agrees because he never let’s me drive on the weekends, he only lets me drive when he isn’t here. LOL. Even better, you could call the insurance lady, she used to use me as a threat to teen drivers saying “don’t be like this girl, or your rates will be like hers…” 🙂 I don’t mind, I know I’m an awful driver, I wish I had a chauffeur, I have better things to do than pay attention to other people driving… I am just joking, my cop friends, I promise, I am doing better. Ok- onto the real reason of this blog.

So- as you can all see, I am happy to welcome my 30’s, I was terrified of 30 for a long time, but, after thinking about my 20’s, I’ve been through hell and deserve a medal, trophy, or something. Here is where I shout out to (2) more people that I didn’t blog specifically about, but should have, I am so sorry. My dear friend Jenny, put up with me trying to be a grown up but still wanting to be that wild 20 year old, there were times, many times, where she hung up on me, would not talk to me, tell me to suck it up and get over it, or just shut up and quit whining “you spoiled brat”. I thought she was just being SO mean at the time but now I know she was helping me grow up and be a better person and be who I wanted to be, so, Thank you SO much Jenny for NEVER giving up on me even when you should have. Next, is my Hubs. He like Jenny, would get so aggravated with the “spoiled brat” mentality and he would not call for weeks, months but he never gave up on me, he still cared about me, and that is why we are married today, it has nothing to do with what I did, he made the call, out of the blue, “Hey Amber, just wanted to check on you, see how you doing.” Thank you Mike for caring about me, even when I made it impossible to want to care.

Now for a song, looked for Tim McGraw but running out of time, but, I’m really digging the Phil Vassar version of “My Next 30 years” Enjoy!

I am not hoping I am knowing that my Thirty’s are going to be way better than my 20’s so cheers to that folks!

Until the next post, I will eat some Birthday chocolates for y’all 🙂
~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

10 responses »

  1. Oh, wow – I can see why you’d welcome your 30’s. Look, they’re still young! I dread 40, 50 and 60, though. Happy Birthday to you!

  2. First of all I cannot believe that you are not reduced to rocking in a corner every time December rolls around. I just can’t believe it. You definitely deserve a damn medal for coming out on the other side of your 20s.

    You are going to LOVE your 30s. In my experience, it is the best decade. You have a little wisdom and experience under your belt and you are still young enough to be able to do anything without having to worry about your knees or back. It is the BEST!!

    Happy, happy birthday, Amber!!! –Lisa

    • Ah- December did give me the best thing too, I got my precious Kens from it… so, it’s tough not to crawl under a rock, but, really, I am not gonna hide… I never back down from a good ole brawl… (thats BS, I dont fight, when we were in school & I would start fights with the big girls I would have to call the besties to fight for me, I’m too scronny for that- I’m a drama queen, not a fighting girl…lol)

      I’m counting on my 30s rocking! Thanks SO much for the Birthday wishes, Lisa!

  3. Your twenties were rough. I am sorry. But at least you made it though…that is cause for celebration isn’t it?!!!
    My thirties were awesome. What am I saying…I am still 39! Hahaha. Yes, I have been 39 for the last 5 years and I will probably continue it on for another 5 years. By then it might be too obvious though. Just followed you on Facebook and bloglovin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

