My brilliant daughter confused me yet again…

Standard

Don’t worry folks, I don’t mean to sound an alarm, however…this has me baffled.

I know my generation has not really grasped onto this musician like they should have but my baby, she is a mini-me, surely she would adore Jimi Hendrix, right? If you know me personally, my hair is long and naturally wavy (if I didn’t straighten for a meeting) and I dig maxi skirts, before they were popular, I loved long skirts & flip flops…. I swear I was born in the wrong generation only if I was a 70’s teen I would not be my parents daughter because they were 70’s teens… My momma and daddy got to experience all the coolness and I am SO jealous….

Anyways, back to my Jimi Hendrix story, “Foxy Lady” came on the radio and immediately I begin hippie dancing, those who “know me” know me (only a select few) have witnessed this, and it’s the most awesomest dance you have ever seen Amber Day do, I have you know, she says, and I quote “Momma, #1- quit texting, (side note- it was speech to text insurance lady Jenny, I promise), #2- who is this singing? ( I tell her Jimi, argumentatively one of the best guitarists of all times), #3 quit hippie dancing because if somebody from her school sees her in my car and puts two and two together that I am her Momma her school life could be over…. & #4 she really isn’t a fan of this Jimi Hendrix I spoke of, could I change it? (No- I owned the car…)

Now…. Forget the fact that you think my hippie dancing is the worst of all times, apparently you haven’t been to any of the concerts I’ve been to little lady, wait you are 9, excuse me 9 and a half, you are not old enough to get into the bars…. but, to not like Jimi Hendrix…. People…. Explain this to me…. I am SO confused…

Anyways here’s the YouTube of Jimi doing “Foxy Lady” at Woodstock…. Man, I wish I was there, I wasn’t even thought about….

Oh wait, before Bubba fusses, I love my child more than anything. She digs music also!

Until my next random post…. šŸ™‚

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

6 responses »

    • My darling daughter- why are you signing in under my name? The email address you entered is incorrect, but, I love to hippie dance, it makes me happy & I don’t care what others think of me, you will get there my sweet girl when you are older you will understand that true friends love you for who you are and don’t try to change who you are my darling… now it’s past your bed time sweet pea. I love you to the moon AND BACK! Xoxo. Momma.

  1. I am very into the wavy hair and maxi skirts over here! My kids have Hendrix shirts, so they better grow up to love him!

    • She better adjust & grow to love him & soon because Momma aint happy, life is gonna be hard around this house! Tamara- doesn’t it seem like the crowd is diminishing with folks who just love to groove with Jimi?

Leave a Reply

