Wagon Wheel- which version?

Standard

Okay 2nd week of Sing off Sunday!!!!!!

I’m not sure if any of you have listened to a band called Old Crow Medicine Show, but, they are a bluegrass band and they are pretty awesome! They do a song called “Wagon Wheel”‘ & Bob Dylan started writing the song then Billy the Kid opp came about, when Dylan was writing it the title was “Mama rock me”. I love OCMS!! This band is so talented! Here’s the OCMS video.

So, you guys remember Darius Rucker, right? (Aka- Hootie, side note, my daughter and I got into a 10 minute argument about what Darius’ name was, she said no Momma, it’s Hootie & I was driving my car on the highway, pulled over (see Jenny- insurance lady, I did the right thing 🙂 ), parked, explained to her Hootie & the Blowfish was a band name he was called Hootie because he was the singer however it was the band name and his real name is Darius…) Darius just released his CD a couple months ago & I love almost every song on there, but, I love the bluesy sound that Darius can bring to the table.  Anyways… Below is the Darius Rucker video & it does have a few guests in the video 🙂

So, last week, I told you my favorite, but, this week why don’t you guys try and figure it out…. While you all try to figure me out, figure out which one you like better as well!

~Amber~
Posted from WordPress for Android

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

5 responses »

  1. I am SO glad you wrote this post. This is one of those songs that I knew I knew but didn’t know it by name. Does that make sense? And yes.. I’m liking OCMS better as well. A lot of is that I can’t take Hootie… I mean Darius Rucker seriously. I was flabbergasted when I heard he had re-entered the music world as a country music singer. I mean he’s good but he’s HOOTIE for God’s sake which is a band I used to listen to on nickel beer night at Plum Crazy’s on West Market street when I was 19.

    • His new cd is some country but picks up the good ole bluesy Hootie I am digging his CD, if you haven’t heard it, just listen to a few of the songs, but, the OCMS is the traditional bluegrass… I also have my youtube channel linked & a local band Rough Cut (Bubba’s band- he sings of course) does this song & it’s recorded but not well on my youtube channel… You make plenty of sense, Kristen, and you are not the first or the last person I will hear say it. This is one of those sing off Sunday issues where it could easily become a debate because he is HOOTIE even that was the band… lol

Leave a Reply

