2nd go at Salsa!

Standard

image

All night on Monday night and Tuesday morning, I was at it again to nail down this recipe so back at it I went, coring tomatoes,seeded, peeling, and slicing about 4lbs of tomatoes so I could attempt my first shot at canning 4 pints of homemade salsa however, after 4lbs of tomatoes I only had enough for 4 pints of salsa.

I have to give credit to the blog post where I based my recipe from and here’s the original blog post http://bryantfamilynews.blogspot.com/2009/06/homemade-salsa.html.

I did however spice things up a bit and you will see that as I am going to lay my recipe out below as well. Happy cooking & canning! BTW if you do not own a pressure cooker I would die without mine, it’s one of those things I watched my Momma do and so I asked my grandparents for when I got married, they said are you sure that’s really what you want as a wedding gift, I said oh yeah, I really need that pressure cooker…look…OK sorry for the tangent, on to the recipe!

-6 cups (about 4lbs.) tomatoes- seeded, peeled, cored, stemmed out, and diced.
-6 green onions- sliced
-2 jalapeño peppers- diced
-4 cloves garlic- minced
-2 tbsp. minced fresh cilantro
-4 tsp. salt
-1/2 cup red wine vinegar
-6 tbsp. lime juice
-9 drops Texas Pete hot sauce
-1 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
-1 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper
-2 medium green red peppers
-1/4 tsp. pepper

Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender to get good blend of all ingredients, but, don’t over blend and loose thickness. Transfer to large saucepan and bring to boil. Once salsa is at a boil turn heat down & simmer for 15 minutes. If you are planning to can the salsa you would then carefully ladle salsa into (4) pint size jars, leaving 1/4″ headspace. Wipe jars clean of any salsa & put lids on. Place in boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

I did revise the original blog post  recipe a lot & spice it up for my family (mainly the hubs & the country boys that hang out here on the farm, because, I don’t know about other country boys but these Southeast country boys like it spicy when it comes to salsa. Now let’s see if we can get ’em to learn how to salsa dance… BaHaHaHa… That would be funny, but, I am not sure that would happen, definitely not my Hubs or probably anyboby else, maybe Bubba, but I think that’s stretching it a little too far maybe even for good ole Bubba…. Who knows…

Enjoy your salsa, maybe we can get some Southeast boys to do the salsa but until next time, Happy Canning!
~Amber~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

Leave a Reply

