Roasted Tomato Basil Soup!

Standard

1st go of this recipe folks, my family loved it & there is plenty left over for at least (4) pints to can!

image

Above is the final result of below yummy recipe I cannot believe I am giving out but if I don’t blog it I will forget what I have come up with then I will be upset… lol!

Ingredients are as follows:
2.5lbs of various tomatoes (mine were rutger & cherry tomatoes from my garden)
1 medium onion
4 cloves of garlic
1 tsp of basil or chopped fresh basil (couldn’t find any fresh basil at grocery store, next year- I will have an herb garden)
4 tbsp of olive oil
1 quart canned tomatoes (if you don’t can tomatoes you can you a 15oz can of crushed tomatoes)
1 can chicken broth
Salt & pepper to your liking
1 tsp crushed red pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice tomatoes longways & spread face up on baking sheet. Cover with 2 tbsp of olive oil and salt and pepper. Place in oven for 40 minutes.

image

(Tomatoes before they were roasted.)

In big stockpot, warm 2 tbsp of olive oil. Dice onion & place in pot with olive oil. Let cook for 2-3 minutes. Chop garlic cloves. Place garlic & crushed red pepper in pot & let simmer for another 2-3 minutes. Add canned tomatoes, basil, & chicken broth.

image

(Tomato soup minus the roasted tomatoes.)

When tomatoes in oven are roasted transfer those tomatoes to stockpot gently by stirring roasted tomatoes in. When last tomato is in pot, pour all remaining juices from baking sheet in pot. Let stockpot simmer on medium low heat for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes transpire use an imersion blender, food processor, or blender to puree the tomatoes to your specific taste. (My family likes it a little chunky, so, I didn’t puree for a long time.)

When we can this recipe we will do a water bath so boiling water for the (4) pints for 15 minutes.

The neat thing about this recipe is just about everything is out of my garden, y’all! Self sufficient is really awesome!!

Until next time!
šŸ™‚ Amber

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

6 responses »

  1. Sounds great. However I am hurt because I have plenty of fresh basil that you could have gotten from me and you didn’t even give me a call. I see where I stand on the friend food chain. Just kidding. You did very well. I am very proud and will give this a try.

    • Ah- Kim shoot me now! I wasn’t even thinking straight outside of Alamance area, shoot me now… argh… gosh! I will definitely shout your way sooner than later…. forgive me… thank you:-)

    • This soup is awesome, I canned 4 pints & K and I ate on it also, so yummy! Oh see, thanks KD, I looked with all the other herbs, remember, I was gonna take over the biz world… LOL I’m learning, thanks for that awesome tip!!! Great to have fab friends who know these things. I never look in tomatoes because I have tomatoes, fresh & home grown canned.

  2. OK, city girl – I’m a vegetarian as you may or may not know. But all I need to do with the recipe is swap out the chicken broth for veggie broth – and I bet it tastes just as good.

Leave a Reply

