Sun is good for you in moderation…

Standard

Ok- today, due to warmer weather my blog post is going to be about the SUN! Everyone loves the sun, right? Well everyone but me. You see I despise the sun, my eyes are very sensitive to light and let’s face it I don’t have good pigmentation for the sun, I tell everyone I am albino.
image

My sister, thanks Sissy, found the above shirt on pinterest the other day and I do rock it, I am the boss of porcelain. Many of you don’t know the background as to why, when I was younger I was a sun baby, tan during summer, as a teen, I laid in tanning beds, then my dear sweet daddy who was working so hard for his masters in divinity degree at Duke University (he was a genius so of course he was a UNC fan but because Duke is a Methodist school and he was a Methodist minister, he went to Duke), anyways, he was diagnosed with Melanoma stage 4 skin cancer and the drs never found a place where it began on his skin they found it had already grown tremendously in his lung. My father’s cancer quickly progressed and I am not going to go into all the sad details because frankly I am still not strong enough to live through that all over again, one day I promise to blog a more in depth story, I am not ready yet, sorry, y’all… He was able to graduate from Duke University Magna cum laude with his masters in divinity in June 2002 which was 6 months before his passing, he was invited and was able to go to Washington, DC and pray the opening prayer during one of the house of representatives sessions, and he broke ground for the new sanctuary at one of churches he ministered. He lived his life to the fullest he loved his family, his friends, his church members, he loved every person he ever met, he loved strangers, and he loved God, he had the strongest faith in God.

I am telling you my father’s story because he had such a vibrant and wonderful life but when he passed my sister was 29, I was 19, and our baby brother was a senior and hadn’t even graduated high school at age 17. We were so young, skin scans like I get to prevent this may have helped who knows but that is why I am begging y’all, wear sunscreen, not babyoil, there is no sunscreen in babyoil, just sayin’…

Sun provides us all with the nutrient vitamin D that we really can’t get from supplements alone however, there’s this great product called sunscreen, I am not asking that you wear SPF1000+ or even SPF100 like I do, ok- another sidebar- I kind of have to- I see my doctor every two months for a full body scan due my family history of melanoma and my skin type I am on like my 4th removal of “freckles” this year because they were precancerous… OK off my soap box. Just wear something stronger than babyoil doesn’t protect you at all.
image

This is my favorite kind and last I heard the only one that the cancer society backs, that could have changed, it has been a year or so since I have checked stats, you don’t have to get 100, they make 20 I think… Just go get sunscreen and make sure to put it on again after 2.5-3 hours it doesn’t last all day. Make sure the sunscreen you are looking at protects against UVA and UVB rays both types of sun rays cause various types of skin cancer.

Be safe and have a fun summer.

Until next time.
~Amber~

About Amber Day Hicks

I am a wife and momma, sweet tea drinking, southern woman. I am very opinionated and do speak my mind and sometimes I am wrong but don't tell the hubs, lol. I will always be Daddy's little girl even though he passed away at age 46 from melanoma stage 4 skin cancer. My momma is the strongest woman I know and she loves me no matter what. I am blessed to be surrounded by a great variety of people from different walks of my life but they are always there for me. My baby girl is just like me. Fireball in the making.... lol. Not all who wander are lost....

8 responses »

    • It’s not, really… I think about all those times I got in the tanning bed… dumb, especially since the newest pre-skin cancererous digs was on my breast, I am not bashful but I don’t go to nude beaches, it had to be that tanning bed… I think they should be illegal for kids under age 18 just like tobacco and voting… ok, sorry for the rant, thanks for visiting, KD!

  1. Hi Amber,

    I’m so sorry to hear about your father. I too have lost some loved ones to melanoma and I know how horrible it is to watch. I used to worship the sun in my younger years up until about 4 years ago when I was diagnosed with a basal cell carincoma on my forehead. YEs, the surgery from it, and hopefully they did get it all, has left me with a “3rd eye”. I have to laugh about it now because going through it was absolutely horrible. I also had 2 moles removed on my back which left about a 7 inch scare under my left shoulder blade. The 1st mole was removed and thankfully we caught it just in time. The biopsy came back saying if it was left any longer, it would have developed into a melanoma. The 2nd mole came back benign thankfully.

    However, it was just enough of a scare that I was dying that I hibernated for the next year. I eventually got back out there but now where sunblock 365 days per year. It’s sad to me how the media promotes all these tan people and “this is the look of beauty” but they don’t stress enough the cost for that beauty and the long term affects of looking like leather beaten to death.

    Very sad. My new motto has been “Pale, it’s the new tan” and I embrace it. When people tease me, yes even at 44 years old they tease, I introduce them to my “3rd eye” and give them the lesson that no one gave me.

    Sorry to ramble but this is so near and dear to my heart. Bless you girly and thanks for sharing this with us. Again, sorry about your father.

    • Bren,

      Sorry to hear what you’ve gone through. I can’t seem to get released for more than two months without them finding another place that needs biopsied, I look like Frankenstein, & frankly I don’t care. I am going to be able to see my daughter graduate high school and drink coffee with her when she is older and have adult conversations, all that stuff we sadly missed with our daddy. I wear my sunscreen 365 days a year, and its OK if people think I look pale, because technically it’s called porcelain & I rock it! Glad you keep a check on it also. So many people have no clue how quiet but deadly melanoma really is… I witnessed it first hand… Happy Friday, Bren!

  2. Amber I am so sorry about your dad. I understand how hard it must be to talk about it. Cancer is horrible. We are dealing with it in our family now and it’s really hard. When I was a kid, I used baby oil, because that’s what my mom did. Now I use sunscreen of course. And I get checked pretty much every year. My oldest gets checked every year as well now because he has moles on his back that his regular doctor recommended he get checked. My feeling is you can’t be too cautious.

    • Good for y’all, Michelle! You can never be too cautious!! I just got released from the doctor in October for every 6 months so thats pretty cool, I was going every 3 months because every time the Dr would have to surgerically remove precancerous cells but you can NEVER be to cautious! šŸ™‚

  3. I’m so sorry you lost your dad, Amber. I too am super cautious about the sun. I get a full body exam every year, but this post reminded me that I haven’t gone in awhile. I just made a note to make an appointment on Monday. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

